How long should a chapter be?

It's something I found myself thinking about, and in the end I decided to ask my readers about it. I'm also asking here.

What is the ideal length of a chapter?

I found myself shortening this week chapter from 16K to 11K words because it felt too long. As an author I can release about 10k to 15k words a week.

When I write a chapter I usually choose a theme, and put in snippets that advance the storyline according to that theme. The length also increased as the novel is progressing.

I thought about it, and like often in engineering, there may be a sweet spot.

On one end, there is a length that most would consider too short. If I just wrote 100 words per chapter, it would take forever to finish the novel and a chapter would not meaningfully progress any story thread at all.

On the opposite end. If I were to release a chapter of 1M words, it would basically be a whole novel in itself. It would be bad because you wouldn't have the chapter list to help you navigate all this content, and it would take you days or even weeks to read.

This is the actual length of some of the chapters I have written.
Chapter 2: Arrival is 1.8K words
Chapter 5: Revelation is 5.2K words
Chapter 12: Death is 10.9K words

What do you think is the right length for a chapter that is released weekly?
https://www.royalroadcdn.com/reyadawnbri...TcjPAk.jpg
Twilight Over Arcania - My take on the resurrection theme

RE: How long should a chapter be?

'Reya Dawnbringer' pid='827050' dateline='1502625870' Wrote: It's something I found myself thinking about, and in the end I decided to ask my readers about it. I'm also asking here.

What is the ideal length of a chapter?

I found myself shortening this week chapter from 16K to 11K words because it felt too long. As an author I can release about 10k to 15k words a week.