Grammar 101 - Parts Of Speech, Syntactic Structures

https://souladonis.com/wp-content/upload...writer.jpg
Image by Duncan Hall

Introduction (Feel free to skip)

Hey guys. At the suggestion of a few fellow Royal Road authors, I've decided to post a series of tutorials on the craft of writing. The purpose of these tutorials will be to teach those who are still in the early stages of the craft how to think and write like a professional author. Having said this, I think that it's necessary to explain my qualifications for being the one to write these tutorials.

First, my name is Michael Brock. I've worked intensely on my skills as a writer for over a decade now. In 2007, I graduated from Michigan State University with a degree in Linguistics (the science of language). Afterwards, I taught English and Reading to students in an underprivileged school, taught English as foreign language in France for seven months, spent three months in Brazil as a missionary, and published my first novel in October of last year. In case you're wondering, no, I'm not a bestselling author or anything. But Stephen King isn't on Royal Road, so I'm what you've got. (For what it's worth, I did read his book on writing called On Writing. It's ok.)

So let's begin. These tutorials will start out with easy and basic stuff and rapidly advance to more complex techniques of the craft of writing. At the suggestion of Unice, each lesson will be given a number reminiscent of a college course. For example, the first part of a series will be 101 and then 102, 201, 202, etc.

The first section is on grammar. By the end of the grammar section you should have a strong grasp on the basics of English grammar, be able to fluently use a variety of syntactic structures, know how to punctuate and structure paragraphs in narrative form, be familiar with a range of literary devices, be confident in your choice of words, and ultimately, be able to write prose that flows like water.

Grammar 101: Parts of Speech