Could someone give me a rundown of RRL?

Hello everyone,

I'm an amateur author looking for a good place to publish my story online. Recently I've stumbled on RoyalRoadL, and I've been wondering whether I'd have any chance to break through here. I've tried to post it on several other websites, including a self-ran blog, but I met with next to no interest. 

I believe it's mostly because my story is extremely niche. It didn't fall very well into the popular genres and conventions, and it deals with themes few readers find interesting. The audience didn't have too many problems with the quality of my writing - the reviews, while sparse, were generally favourable. When it was criticised, it was mostly for being what it is rather than something that the community enjoyed more.

I'm far from resenting anyone for it, or thinking that my story is 'better' just because it can't fit in. Everyone is free to like what they do, and I'm no one to tell them otherwise. At the same time I want to write what I enjoy, and I'm looking for a fair chance to share it. I know my story has some target audience since some people on the previous websites liked it. I hope to find a good place or way to reach it.

At this point, I can't really afford to invest myself into a new community if I have no chance of breaking through, so I wanted to do a bit of research on RRL before I commit to publishing here. I'd greatly appreciate it if you could give me a bit of a rundown on the website, the community and what should I expect here. In particular, I'm curious about: