Advertisement

Choose Your Background

• Noah Bradley: A place to call Home

• Noah Bradley: Their Mournful Tones

A different fundamental approach to the rating system

I'm a teacher, and one frustration I have with the rating system is that any given piece of writing will, and should, receive different levels of assessment based on how it is being judged.

The exact same paper could get an A in an 8th grade class, and would get an F in university. To give one overall grade depends on the perspective that the reviewer has in judging it, on what "stage" they see the author as presenting it. Whether the author means it as a serious entry into the finest works of humanity, or as a fun romp, or as a learning experience makes a big difference.

So, I think it'd be useful to include a different sort of master category for stories - the stage.

Example stages could be:

World Stage: The author feels that this work ought to be judged according to the standard of the best humanity has to offer. It should be judged alongside Douglas Adams, Isaac Asimov, and modern major works, like Harry Potter.

Standard Publication: The author feels that this work is on par with normal published works, and feel it should be judged accordingly.

Just For Fun: The author's writing is whimsical, or at some level, not pursuing perfection, and as such, it should not be taken seriously. Therefore, it should be judged by how fun it is to read, rather than any serious standards.

Learner's Lounge: The author feels that this work ought to be judged with the understanding that the author is learning or otherwise presenting a notably imperfect work, but it nonetheless has value.

If an author marks his story as World Stage, he's inviting heavy criticism and harsh reviews. Getting 3 stars average is a major achievement. If marked as Standard Publication, he's inviting serious criticism, but