Another Review Exchange

Fellow wonderers of the Royal Road,

I, like so many before me, offer to review your work as you review mine. I prefer for a "public facing" review on the fiction page, with any particularly technical critiques here.

That is not an attempt to be disingenuous to our readers, but I think most won't be interested in my failure to introduce the breeding habits of the Australian wombat, or the appropriateness of split infinitives in dialog.

I will return the favor likewise. I give a small warning that I am a professor who actively avoids teaching undergraduates for many reasons, but a significant one is my distaste for reading their work. I've put out enough reviews here that you should be able to gauge my review style by looking through my profile.

If I feel like I can't give your work a review higher than 3.5 overall, I will put the full review here instead. It's really not my goal to be mean or drive anyone's ratings down, rather I hope to be clear and objective.

I've also taken up the WhiteSamurai Rambling Method in forum posts as a possible filter/control. Can you tell?

My fiction:

http://www.royalroadl.com/fiction/7895/handyman

RE: Another Review Exchange

'baronblackwell' pid='830232' dateline='1511312536' Wrote: I'll take you up on your offer if you're still interested.

My fiction: http://royalroadl.com/fiction/12313/the-undying-prince

Hey, just FYI, it's going to take me awhile to get through The Undying Prince. I can tell you're doing you're best to make a professional effort, and have put quite a lot of toil into the work. That said, working through the chapters so far has been, for lack of a better word, drudgery.

I think that your chapters could easily be edited down by ~30%. I know that you are aiming for a descriptive and immersive style, but it actually comes off as rambling and undisciplined. Real beauty lasts in writing when word economy and immersion are married.