RE: How much do you plan before writing?

I'm kinda new to this, but I'm doing this: I have a general plot, a guideline and some major scenes, but I let some empty spaces to let myself be inspired as I write. And it's kind of a long plot so there is a lot of scenes and a lot of blank between them.

I don't think it's optimized, and sometimes, after writing 2-3 chapters, I realised that it is shit and I have to redo it again. But it keeps me motivated and, I hope, creative. :3
(^.^) My novel: WileQuest (^.^)

I'm fairly new to actual writing as well, but I have planned out quite a few stories before I finally settled on one to write.
I had plans for 2 very different stories in very different settings at first, but couldn't make either of them go past chapter 1. Both had fairly detailed worlds fleshed out, The MC's growth and personality, as well as the most important cast members were also fully formed on paper before I tried putting them in the story.
What happened, is that once I got started on writing, there wasn't any room to actually write. I killed the story before it even started by overthinking my cast.

Just writing it out without plans doesn't work for me either. If I lack direction, I just ramble off at random tangents and never get back on track.

This time, and it seems to work ok. I have given my cast distinct personalities, but their lives contains nothing but their currently relevant relationships. simply put, the stuff they have said or hinted at already.
This includes the MC. Some might think that it's bad that the reader don't know the MC's past, but I don't agree with that. They can get to know the MC as he develops, and his past becomes an issue that has to be dealt with. There is no point in limiting him with a huge past that probably isn't going to be relevant later. or worse. has been revealed in a boring infodump, and then is in the way of that nice plot development you just came up with.